SHANE & PETER ARE MY HOMEBOYZ

Over at Shane and Peter‘s blog they have these questions that they are asking entrepeneurs. Shane left me a comment reminding me that I had to answer it, I warned him that my answers would not be helpful or very insightful, but here they are anyways. Checkout everyone else’s responses, there’s a lot of good shit out there.

What’s your personal mission statement?

Don’t fuck up! I am staring at a sticky note on my Mac right now that says that and I am thinking about putting a note on my wife too (and maybe the children, but probably to late for that).

Biggest mess you dealt with this year?

Potty training Anthony (2 year old) right now, not going to well. Getting fired and creating my own job is a close second.

What current entrepreneurial efforts consume your time?

a) I am starting a Branding/Marketing company that deals with small businesses that are almost ready to throw in the towel. I like taking a piece of shit and molding it into a better looking piece of shit.

b) I have rental property.

c) Looking at opening up a franchise (more info on that later)

d) Helping my wife get her business (custom made baked goods and special order cakes) off the ground.

Why do you do what you do? What inspires you? When do you get most excited?

Some days I don’t know. It grew from a passion for art. When I realized that there was no money in creating art I desperately searched for a way to make a living. Graphic Design…sounds good to me, I like pretty stuff.

What inspires me and gets me excited are the same thing (boobies), good, inovative, fresh design and advertising.

Boxers or Briefs? or as Naomi says, Bikini or Thong, duh?!?

My wife’s thongs. I love the silky feel on my man junk.

What do you do when you’re not [designing | programming | managing | writing | toiling for the wo/man]?

I do the family thing (think of new ways to torment the children), lift weights, listen to really obscure underground hip hop music, and watch mostly crappy movies. I also like to paint, but don’t do too much of that anymore.

What one thing made the biggest difference when getting started?

Ask me in a year, still just getting started.

What’s your exit strategy?

I’m just going to go out for cigarettes (and then you’ll see my face on milk cartons).

What is the last thing that made you belly laugh?

A family friend asked “when are you going to get Anthony baptized?” I responded “when I have proof of god’s exsistense or when he decides that he would like to spend his sunday mornings listening to some guy tell him why he was going to hell”, she responded “our very existence is proof that there is a god”. Man did I laugh, then I sold her some magic beans.

Have you ever been in business before?

Legal…no.

At what point do you consider yourself successful?

When I can remove myself from the business and still collect a paycheck.

What was your first experience with a computer?

Grade school, one of those old apples playing Oregon Trail.

Steve Jobs vs Bill Gates in a jello wrestling match, where’s your money?

In my wallet, I only gamble on dogfights and only if Michael Vick is fighting.

Where do you do your best thinking?

In bed, that stage between being awake and sleep, thats where all my good ideas come from…unfortunately I never remember them, but when I do you are all screwed.

What does your average daily work / life balance look like? How much time do you work, play and sleep?

I am always working. I don’t have to be at a desk, but my mind is always going, thinking of a better way, smarter design, whatever. I even dream about work. I sit at my work area for about 7 hours a day (except weekend), sleep about 5 hours and play with whatever time is left over (I hate math, so don’t ask me).

If I could introduce you to anyone, who would it be?

Paul Rand.

What stops you from giving up when you are frustrated?

Anthony. I’m not saying that I do it for him, what I mean is Anthony wants something, his two year old brain doesn’t fully comprehend no, so he keeps at it and he will do anything it takes to get it.

If Chuck Norris and Steven Hawking had a baby (hey it’s my damn interview), would you vote for her for president?

Good thing I will never have to make that decision, I’m Canadian.

If you drop a cat, how do you make it land on its back?

Lots of ways to do this, but easiest way I can think of is spreading a little peanut butter on it’s back before you drop it.

Thanks Shane and Peter, I have learned a lot about myself. PEACE!

10 Comments

Filed under Daily Grind

10 responses to “SHANE & PETER ARE MY HOMEBOYZ

  1. Pingback: Interview Yourself: Shane at The Shane & Peter Inc. Blog

  2. Pingback: Interviewing You: the Entrepreneur at The Shane & Peter Inc. Blog

  3. afternoonlesly

    “What inspires me and gets me excited are the same thing (boobies)”

    Oh gawd, I choked on my own spit from laughing so hard after reading that. My husband asked what I was laughing at, so I read it out loud to him — it then sparked an impromptu “boobie cheer.”

    Fun interview — can’t wait to hear more about the business development!

  4. michael brito

    @afternoonlesly: thanks for stopping by, i’m glad you didn’t die from choking on your spit, but think of the press i would get. i think this blog is a good way to get me focused on my business and actually do it instead of just talking about it. i’ll keep you posted, hopefully it’ll be fun. PEACE!

  5. Pingback: Interview Yourself: Final Chance to Win at The Shane & Peter Inc. Blog

  6. Pingback: Interview yourself: Lodewijk | How to be an Original

  7. Pingback: My Get Things Done List » Blog Archive » Interview yourself: Lodewijk [How to be an Original]

  8. Re: the baptism thing. The wifey and I are both athiest/humanist/non-believer types.

    Upon the advent of our first child, her family, good Catholics that they are, inquired as to the date of her baptism. We responded that would be on the First of Never, but they were so upset we relented and made an appointment with the priest. What the hell, a little water splashed on her isn’t going to ruin her life, right?

    So we did.. and NOT ONE OF THEM SHOWED UP.

    Well, one did: her brother, the “godfather”. The rest of ’em had better things to do than waste an hour at church on Saturday.

    So, long cut to seven years later, second child. Same question from the worried family. Yeah, right. I reminded them of their pointed lack of participation seven years earlier, and flatly told them that we had zero intention of going through that farce again.

    So our second daughter is unfortunately destined to roast in hell. Poor thing.. if only we cared as much as her relatives she could have been saved..

  9. Oh sheesh – “athiest” 🙂

    How could I do that?

  10. michael brito

    @anthony lawrence: i was baptized, but if there is a hell, good chance i’ll be there so to make sure my fam also suffers no baptism.

Leave a Reply

